Godspeed You! Black Emperor's Community, tickets, shows, tour 2023-2024

  • Concerts
  • Info
  • Playlist
  • Followers

All Godspeed You! Black Emperor concerts

See more concerts

Information of Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Godspeed You! Black Emperor is an experimental rock band formed in Montreal, Canada in 1994 by 9 members. Roger Tellier-Craig (guitar), Norsola Johnson (cello), Efrim Menuck (guitar), Mauro Pezzente (bass), David Bryant (guitar), Thierry Amar (bass), Sophie Trudeau (violin), and Aidan Girt and Bruce Cawdron (drums).

Their musical style is mainly considered Folk, Pop, Punk, Rock, Indie, Electrónica, Slow Core, Freak Folk, Neo-Psychedelic, Post-Metal, Lo-Fi, Experimental Rock, Noise Rock, post rock, indie rock, drone and Metal.

The band's name has its origin in a Japanese documentary called "Goddosupiido yuu! Burakku emparaa" about the adventures of a Japanese biker band.

"All Lights Fucked on the Hairy Amp Drooling", the band's first album, was composed of only 4 of the members and classified as post-rock. However, it did not see the light of day until February 2022 when one of the members published it on Bandcamp.

In 2003 they decided to take a break and focus on respective personal projects until 2010, when they announced their return with a tour throughout the United Kingdom.

Godspeed You! Black Emperor has 7 more albums, 1 EP and 2 compilations. The last of them "G_d's Pee At State's End!", composed of 8 tracks, came out in 2021.

Currently, Godspeed You! Black Emperor is doing a world tour, including cities in the United States, the United Kingdom and the rest of Europe.